Attractions Of ASI


Navratnagarh Attractions of ASI Ranchi Circle

Archival Pictures

Palace & Temple Complex Navratangarh

Navratnagarh is situated about 15 km away from the tehsil headquarter of Sisai and is about 45 Km away from the district headquarter Gumla. It is about 75 km away towards west from the State Capital Ranchi. The site along with some other localities in this area is popularly known as Navratnagarh. It was capital of Nagavanshi ruler of Jharkhand during late medieval period. In one tradition, the 49th king Shri Maharaj Raghunath Sah (in Nagpuria Nagvanshabali) of Naga Dynasty constructed the palace and temple in early 18th century, as mentioned in one of the inscription in the ruins whereas another tradition narrates that the 45th Raja Durjan Sal (in Nagpuria- Nagvanshabali) was constructed the capital and the buildings. It is said that, he had been defeated and was in captive in Gwalior fort by the Mughals. He was proficient in recognizing real diamond and having pleased the sovereign on that account, secured release of himself and other princes like him. After returning from the Mughals hands, Raja Durjan Sal constructed the building in mid 16th century AD. Both the tradition says that the Raja stayed here only for a few years and deserted the place at the instance of a Brahmin, who declared the site as unlucky and shifted the capital to Palkot.

There are three inscriptions found here. Among these, two are present in the temple of lord Jagannath. First inscription describes that the temple is dedicated to lord Jagannath, constructed by royal preceptor Harinath in samvat 1739 or 1683 AD. Another inscription refers that king Raghunath constructed the lord Krishna temple on the third day of the moon lit fortnight in samvat 1739 or AD. 1683 AD, whereas third one, lost its letters refers that the Harinath Deo along with his brother Gokulnath constructed a temple in Samvat 1767 or 1711.

Presently, the Centrally protected monument covers the palace area and temple complex of Navratnagarh which comprises of ten monumental remains which has been serially numbered in clockwise manner i.e. (1) Jagannath Temple no. 1 (2) Rani Lukai (3) Kamal Sahi Palace (4) Yogi Math (5) Pond (6) Royal Palace (7) Lohuthopa Math (8) Rockcut Shivalinga with Yonipitha (9) Monolithic Rock cut Sculptures of Ganesha and the last being (10), Jagannath Temple, no. 2.